Joshua Java

Netbeans: The only IDE you need

Posted on: November 1, 2007

I’m curious about the latest Netbeans version 6 beta2, so I went on downloading it and give it a try since I need to evaluate an opensource Java IDE for building Java desktop applicaition. I was hoping that it could break my misconception about it’s being a resource hungry IDE. At first sight it looks good, the splash and the look and feel looks very nice.
But I ran into this out-of-nowhere error when I tried creating Java Database Desktop application from the new project wizard.
Netbeans 6 beta2 error

So I ignore the message and hoping I can still run the application. But I was wrong, instead I ran into this exception:

init:
deps-jar:
Created dir: C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\build\classes
Compiling 3 source files to C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\build\classes
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:558: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _masterClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
private java.util.List list;
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:142: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _masterClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
_masterClass_ _masterEntityInitial_ = new _masterClass_();
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:142: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _masterClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
_masterClass_ _masterEntityInitial_ = new _masterClass_();
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:154: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _masterClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
List toRemove = new ArrayList(selected.length);
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:154: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _masterClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
List toRemove = new ArrayList(selected.length);
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:156: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _masterClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
_masterClass_ _masterEntityInitial_ = list.get(/* JDK6ONLY */masterTable.convertRowIndexToModel(/* JDK6ONLY */selected[idx]/* JDK6ONLY */)/* JDK6ONLY */);
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:167: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _masterClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
_masterClass_ _masterEntityInitial_ = list.get(/* JDK6ONLY */masterTable.convertRowIndexToModel(/* JDK6ONLY */index/* JDK6ONLY */)/* JDK6ONLY */);
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:168: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _detailClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
Collection _detailEntityInitial_s = _masterEntityInitial_.get_joinCollectionCapital_();
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:170: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _detailClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
_detailEntityInitial_s = new LinkedList();
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:173: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _detailClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
_detailClass_ _detailEntityInitial_ = new _detailClass_();
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:173: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _detailClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
_detailClass_ _detailEntityInitial_ = new _detailClass_();
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:188: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _masterClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
_masterClass_ _masterEntityInitial_ = list.get(/* JDK6ONLY */masterTable.convertRowIndexToModel(/* JDK6ONLY */index/* JDK6ONLY */)/* JDK6ONLY */);
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:189: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _detailClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
Collection _detailEntityInitial_s = _masterEntityInitial_.get_joinCollectionCapital_();
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:191: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _detailClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
List toRemove = new ArrayList(selected.length);
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:191: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _detailClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
List toRemove = new ArrayList(selected.length);
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:195: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _detailClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
Iterator iter = _detailEntityInitial_s.iterator();
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:197: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class _detailClass_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
_detailClass_ _detailEntityInitial_ = iter.next();
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:336: cannot find symbol
symbol  : variable _fieldType_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
columnBinding.setColumnClass(_fieldType_);
C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java:372: cannot find symbol
symbol  : variable _fieldType_
location: class com.taxandtech.lab.MainView
columnBinding.setColumnClass(_fieldType_);
Note: C:\Documents and Settings\DSNP025\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\DesktopApplication\src\com\taxandtech\lab\MainView.java uses unchecked or unsafe operations.
Note: Recompile with -Xlint:unchecked for details.
19 errors
BUILD FAILED (total time: 3 seconds)

I hope this would get fixed in the later version since I realized this is only a beta version.

Tags:

8 Responses to "Netbeans: The only IDE you need"

Komplit, tetapi netbeans 6 terlalu meminta resource hardware yang tinggi, komputer saya sering hang waktu develop.
dari segi interaktif i think masih kalah dengan Ms visual studio 2005.

Iyah, masih kalah jauh dengan MS Visual studio bahkan dengan sharp develop masih kalah :)). Netbeans itu sedari dulu memang mengkonsumsi resource hardware. Netbeans is a resource hunger IDE

Netbeans 6?
waduh, stress kl develop pake netbeans. Apalagi develop develop jsf pake netbeans (visual web page). Padahal konfigurasi memory netbeans dah dibesarin tetep aja lambat🙂
Mending pake MyEclipse 6:)

I encountered the same problem, but I haven’t yet got it to compile. The system complains that it cannot find the symbol _masterClass_ which I think is related to the task manager.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Otherwise, I think the new IDE is great.

Terry

pake netbeans 5.5.1 aja cukup.

setuju banget boss, padahal komputer gw cuman pIII trus pake netbean 6. banyak bengongnya dah

Did you try IntelliJ IDEA? Its the coolest, Man. I was so much using Eclipse till a month ago, but now I am a big fan of this IDE. I have downloaded Netbeans, though. But, haven’t got a chance to use it full time.

NetBeans 6…uhm…definitely a no-no..

I prefer Eclipse..
no-installation-need.

Viva for Eclipse…

*grin*

Leave a Reply

