Joshua Java

Glassfish to the rescue

Posted on: November 9, 2007

For the last 4 days I’ve been working with application to be deployed on IBM Websphere 5.1. But Websphere seems to be so weird besides it is so resource consumingšŸ˜¦. Application that has error on runtime can not be started on WAS and if I’ve got error when I start the apps from the console, it just doesn’t give informative exception.
This is what I mean by not very informative:

[11/8/07 20:17:07:242 ICT] 29b9c03e WebGroup E SRVE0026E: [Servlet Error]-[]: java.lang.NullPointerException
at org.apache.jsp._error._jspService(_error.java:113)
at com.ibm.ws.webcontainer.jsp.runtime.HttpJspBase.service(HttpJspBase.java:89)
...

So I went on finding other appserver that is lighter, can give informative exception and somewhat similar to WAS because the apps connects to a JNDI datasource. I went on for Glassfish since it’s quite similar to WAS. Though I like JBoss, but it has different naming to WAS which requires me to change the configuration back and forth.

Well it simply works and it’s much lighter than WAS both during startup and during runtime. I can figure out the problem because eventhough the apps has error, Glassfish still allows the apps to be started and when I hit the browser to run the apps it shows a very informative stacktrace.
This is what I mean by very informative:

java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: PWC1651: Class com.foo.web.util.SessionCounter has unsupported major or minor version numbers, which are greater than those found in the Java Runtime Environment version 1.5.0_11
at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.findClass(WebappClassLoader.java:980)
...

Also it has a very nice look and feelšŸ˜‰ And oh, best of all, it’s free, as I don’t have to spend alot of money for something that does not help my productivity.

Thanks Glassfish.

1 Response to "Glassfish to the rescue"

good boy.. hehehhe iseng ajah niy :p
luv u

Leave a Reply

